Skip to main content

Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology

Where Science Meets Society

Core Facilities

Lunch with the Core - Fall 2017

The Core will be hosting a Fall 2017 seminar series covering the instrumentation in the Core and some of the research taking place in the Core. The seminars will be held in the Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology, Room 612 (Concourse level) from 12:00-1:00 on the days listed. Pizza will be provided. We will be updating the schedule with more information as it becomes available.

Wednesday, September 6, 2017 The Alba Confocal Microscope with Single Molecule Sensitivity: FLIM, FFS and STED - Dr. Yuansheng Sun, ISS
Wednesday, September 13, 2017 "Art of Science" - Noah Dibert, Creative Program Manager, Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology
Wednesday, September 20, 2017 Introduction to the Computer and Network Resource Group - Dan Davidson, Director of CNRG and Research Computing
Wednesday, September 27, 2017 Introduction to the IGB Cube - Hank Kaczmarski, Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 Introduction to Biocluster - Dan Davidson, Director of CNRG and Research Computing
Wednesday, October 11, 2017 Amira - Mayandi Sivaguru, Associate Director for Core Facilities, Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology
Wednesday, October 18, 2017 TBD
Wednesday, October 25, 2017 Synthetic Optical Holography - Shravan Gupta, Graduate Student, Bioimaging Science and Technology, Beckman Institute
Wednesday, November 1, 2017 Security - Computer Networking Resource Group (CNRG) - Dan Davidson, Director of CNRG and Research Computing
Wednesday, November 8, 2017 The Cell as a Test Tube: Using the Environmental Adaptation of the Cell to Measure and Control Protein Dynamics in situ - Shahar Sukenik, Postdoc Research Associate, UIUC Physics Department
Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Serial Block Face 3D - SEM (Sample Prep & Applications) - Kingsley Boateng, Senior Research Specialist, IGB Core Facilities
Wednesday, November 29, 2017 TBD
Wednesday, December 6, 2017 TBD