Skip to main content

Illinois IGB

Get Acquainted

 

Professional Skills for Careers in Biosciences (PSCB)

Professional Skills for Careers in Biosciences (PSCB)

The Carl R. Woese Institute for Genomic Biology (IGB) will provide the workshop-based certificate program, Professional Skills for Careers in Biosciences (PSCB), for the fifth year.

The PSCB workshop series is intended for graduate students and postdocs to develop and enhance their universal job skills, including communication, professionalism, marketing, budgeting, and leadership. Each of the thirteen workshops throughout the year will cover topics related a variety of bioscience career paths, including academia, industry, entrepreneurship, policy, teaching, science writing, and others. The course will end with a communications workshop lead by Story Collider.

Register here for the PSCB program.

Workshops will begin September 2022, and registration will open the end of August.

If you have questions, contact IGB Outreach Education Coordinator, Erin Louer, at emckern2@illinois.edu.

 

Workshop Details:
•    Registration is for 12 workshops plus one capstone event
•    Each workshop will meet from 12:00 PM – 1:30 PM 
•    Participants must attend 75% of sessions (9 of 12) and the final capstone event for credit. 
•    A certificate is offered after completion of the capstone event
•    No homework required

Tentative Workshop Schedule

Fall 2022:
Workshop 1: Thursday, September 29, 2022

Workshop 2: Thursday, October 6, 2022

Workshop 3: Thursday, October 20, 2022

Workshop 4: Thursday, November 3, 2022

Workshop 5: Thursday, November 17, 2022

Workshop 6: Thursday, December 1, 2022

 

Spring 2023:
Workshop 7: Thursday, January 26, 2023 

Workshop 8: Thursday, February 9, 2023

Workshop 9: Thursday, February 23, 2023

Workshop 10: Thursday, March 9, 2023

Workshop 11: Thursday, March 23, 2023

Workshop 12: Thursday, April 6, 2023

Workshop 13: Saturday, April 15, 2023*

  • *Please note, attendance is mandatory for the final workshop to receive the certificate and will take place from 10AM-3PM.